• +91-9388 351 872 , +91-9562 444 171 , 0471-2337293
  • Sasthamkovil Road, TVM

MEA Attestation

Home MEA Attestation

Ministry of External Affairs (MEA)

MEA Document Attestation Procedure:

All original documents requiring Attestation or Apostille by the Ministry of External Affairs, New Delhi, are required to be first authenticated/attested by the designated authorities/departments of the State Governments/Union Territory from where the documents were issued. MEA Attestation can only be done after the respective relevant state authority has attested a particular document. We require MEA attestation to use the document or certificate within India and in foreign countries. The process of Attestation of certificates/documents from MEA can be done on all the Certificates/documents issued by Indian Authorities. The procedure is as follows-

Step 1: Authentication of documents

Non-Educational Documents:

The documents (like birth or death certificates, marriage certificates, affidavits, driving licenses, etc.) are required to be first attested by the State Home Department of the issuing State/Union Territory. The authentication must be done with the name and designation seal as well as the seal of the Department.

Educational Documents:

The documents should be first attested by the State Education Department of the concerned State Government/Union Territory. The authentication must be done with the name and designation seal as well as the seal of the Department.

Commercial Documents:

The documents are to be pre-authenticated by the respective Chambers of Commerce before these can be attested by the Ministry of External Affairs, New Delhi. The rubber stamp of the respective Chamber of Commerce must be affixed on each document along with the name & designation of authorized signatory.

Step 2: Attestation/Legalization of documents by MEA

The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) attests /legalizes the documents only after these have been authenticated with the signature and seal/stamp of the designated authorities of the State Government/Union Territory/Chambers of Commerce from where the documents have been issued. The MEA legalizes the certificate/documents on the basis of the signature of the designated authorities; hence it does not take responsibility of the contents of the documents.

Educational Documents

  • 1) Degree Certificate
  • 2) PG Degree Certificate
  • 3) BE Certificate
  • 4) Diploma Certificate
  • 5) Nursing Certificate
  • 6) SSC Certificate
  • 7) HSC Certificate
  • 8) Inter Certificate
  • 9) MBBS Certificate
  • 10) Engineering Certificate
  • 11) Transcript Certificate
  • 12) Nursing Certificate
  • 13) Pharmacy Certificate
  • 14) MS Certificate
  • 15) MD Certificate
  • 16) Mark Sheets

Non-Educational Documents

  • 1) Marriage Certificate
  • 2) Birth Certificate
  • 3) Leaving Certificate
  • 4) Police Clearance
  • 5) Registration Certificate
  • 6) Power of Attorney
  • 7) Death Certificate
  • 8) Bona-fide Certificate
  • 9) Medical Certificate

Commercial Documents

  • 1) Export Invoice
  • 2) Packaging list
  • 3) Power of Attorney
  • 4) Certificate of Origin
  • 5) Certificate of incorporation
  • 6)Chemical analysis report
  • 7) Physical analysis report

Countries that Accept MEA General Attestation:

The Countries which are not signatory to the Hague Convention 1961 require and accept Indian documents Attested by the Ministry of External Affairs, New Delhi, as valid documents for further processing by their respective Embassies/Consulates for various purposes. Thereafter these attested documents can be used in the foreign country concerned